Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d433818124/htdocs/clickandbuilds/reikichristine/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/operations.class.php on line 2758

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d433818124/htdocs/clickandbuilds/reikichristine/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/operations.class.php on line 2762

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d433818124/htdocs/clickandbuilds/reikichristine/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/output.class.php on line 3706
Chakras -

What are chakras?

  • ‘Chakra’ means ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’.
  • Spinning centres of free-flowing high density energy.
  • Each has its own colour and vibrational frequency.
  • Aligned invisibly and vertically along the spinal column.
  • Their primary goal is to keep us functioning at optimum levels.
  • It is essential they are balanced in order to stay open and aligned.
  • Their energy flow is directly affected by everything we do, our thoughts, emotions, health and state of mind.
  • There are 7 main chakras associated with reiki, explained below.
  • Additional chakras are present within our bodies, which are less well known.

The seven main chakras

  Crown Chakra / Sahasrara  

Location: Top of the head

Our ability to be fully connected spiritually, inner/outer beauty and pure bliss.

  Third Eye Chakra / Ajna  

Location: Forehead, between the eyes

Our ability to focus on and see the big picture, intuition, imagination, wisdom, think and make decisions.

  Throat Chakra / Vishuddha  

Location: Throat

Our ability to communicate, express feelings and truth.

  Heart Chakra / Anahata  

Location: Centre of chest above heart

Our ability to love, feel joy and inner peace.

 Solar Plexus Chakra / Manipura 

Location: Stomach area

Our ability to be confident/in control of our lives, self-worth, confidence and self-esteem.

 Sacral Chakra / Svadhisthana 

Location: 2″ below the navel and 2″ inwards

Our connection and ability to accept others, experiences, sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.

 Root Chakra / Muladhara 

Location: Base of spine/tailbone)

Our foundation, sense of grounding and survival e.g. financial independence, money and food.


  • When all the chakras are balanced our entire body is in harmony and we feel energised, elevated and whole.
  • We are able to release toxins and everyday debris as our energy flows freely.


  • Blocked energy in a chakra/s can leave us prone to illness in that area or areas of the body.
  • Negative emotions, fears, an unhealthy lifestyle and or habits can all contribute to blockages and imbalances.
  • Due to the location of each chakra, a blocked or imbalanced chakra relates to specific ailments and physical, emotional, spiritual and mental dysfunctions.
  • When a chakra is blocked, other chakras work hard to compensate and as a result become over or under active, causing issues for others. 
Book a reiki session